top of page
  • Writer's pictureStitch

Gear Hacks

Updated: Feb 14, 2020




This is where I will post any gear hacks and things I do to make things work more smoothly and lighten my pack.











To make things lighter

cut the length or width

of the material


Cut the jar opener

to a smaller diameter

to reduce weight.

!!Don't use a plastic lid while heating!!

In the photos above

I haven't attached the binder clip handle to the jar lid yet.

Below is the finished lid.









Sturdy and lightweight,

But they are crinkly

I am going to practice different closure ideas.


These are useful for bundling strings,

But they will snap with too much stretching.

I bring a few extra in case. A handful of the barely registers on the scale



Below:

I was brainstorming how to keep my bottles from being smelly and attracting animals due to the aroma of electrolyte tabs and drink powders.

I found this collapsible bottle so I can stuff it in my tiny bear canister at the end of the day. Anytime I need electrolytes I'll just use this bottle. It's girthier than a water bottle. So I used just the center of a larger bottle to create a sleeve so it won't get squashed in the bottle holder and using this it's easier to get in and out. I sanded the edges of the sleeve so they aren't sharp.




Below:

Shower bottlecap



clean up with your own personal shower!

*adult supervision with this project.

1. Grip the "T" of the pin (or the head of the nail)

2. Heat the tip.

3. Carefully press down through cap.

Safety

Make sure the cap is stable on a flat surface. Never push it through while holding it up off a flat surface. You may stick yourself.

Use sandpaper to clean the plastic residue off of the pin in between heating to prevent the plastic from burning. *tools can pinch, pins are stabby.

*Use ventilation when doing this project. *fire, and things heated by fire can burn you. use caution.





45 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page