top of page
  • Writer's pictureStitch

The Appalachian Trail

Updated: Jan 18, 2023

I would love to through hike this trail end to end

"The Appalachian National Scenic Trail is the longest hiking-only footpath in the world, measuring roughly 2,190 miles in length. The Trail travels through fourteen states along the crests and valleys of the Appalachian Mountain Range, from its southern terminus at Springer Mountain, Georgia, to the northern terminus at Katahdin, Maine."

-The Appalachian Trail Conservancy


I have hiked from Massachusetts to route 4 in Vermont

and then from thundering brook falls to cloudland road

in Vermont


I hiked from Bear Mountain in Connecticut to the Mass Pike route 90.

got hives from mosquito bites and had to get off trail.

best to avoid Massachusetts in mosquito season.


I have also hiked North from Amicalola falls NOBO almost through all of Georgia then I had to leave trail because of corona restrictions.


I love the AT Please go to the Trail webpages in each state for instructions on how to manage any trail obstacles and updates to trail closures and State coronavirus updates. Resources


  • The appalachian Trail Conservancy


  • Guide books and waterproof pocket maps - all the maps

Paper maps are a vital tool for hiking in the wilderness. a good companion to them is technology. in my opinion the best app to have on your Phone is the Guthook Guide by Atlas Guides

(now called Far Out)

it saved me when I lost my map on the Long Trail, and is up to date on information like water sources etc.

you do not have to be connected to the internet to use this app.


I don't ever rely on only an electronic guide as the sole source of information in the event it fails, it is my opinion you should- always have a paper map and compass with you.



Appalachian trail on Google maps

Appalachian Trail


Fun Fact

The Long Trail in Vermont was the inspiration for the Appalachian trail

- Green Mountain Club

 

Georgia Section Photos




 

Massachusetts Section Photos




31 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page